A trip to the US Embassy. 

Standing taller and grander than the other embassies, the US consulate is hard to miss. I arrive at the gate and was stop by a security officer. It was then, I realised how tight the security is at the US Embassy.

After going through layers of security checks, I finally made my way to the room where my visa would be approved. Inside, everything moved a lot faster. And I was out of the building within 30 minutes.

I thought the process would require me to travel a lot deeper into the building but it felt like I was barely into the building. Again, a reflection of how guarded the US Embassy is.

The whole experience felt surreal. Like I was entering a top secret place. America is an enigmatic place to me and this mysteriousness is reflected in its embassy as  well.

On the outside, the security front remains cold but professional. On the inside, the warmth of the staff there could be felt through their guiding voices for a lost sheep like me. I hope America would be like that, cold on the outside, warm on the inside.

Moreover, it was also this whole process of getting my visa approved that made me realised that I am really studying abroad. I am going to leave this country for 4 years at least, to a land so far and foreign to me. They are so many fears and no amount of time can psychologically prepare me.

I hope all will be well eventually.

7 thoughts on “A trip to the US Embassy. 

  1. How cool that you will be going abroad for a long time! I just spent a year in the US, so feel free to ask me questions if you have any. And good luck with your visa application!! Where are you from?
    Kathrin — mycupofenglishtea.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I really love it there, it’s like my second home. What region would you be moving to? The country is so varied, you can have any climate you want!! Beach, large city, rural town, mountains, desert …
        The people are generally very friendly, and although sometimes it’s hard to make close friends quickly, some of my best friends are from the US.
        I’m from Switzerland and will be moving to London soon.

        Kathrin — mycupofenglishtea.wordpress.com

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Wow, sounds like you had fun there! I would be staying along the east coast! Does ethinicity matter there? cos I am asian and I am not sure if it will be easy integrate with their community. How is the security there too?

        Like

Leave a Reply

