Monkey Wrench 

I didn’t know that there was a tool called a Monkey Wrench. Not until I was tasked with fixing the toilet’s tap. Needless to say, in my 20 years of pampered life, I hardly meddled with the maintenance of household appliances. It was my dad who felt that it was time to give me these mini projects of changing the tap and light bulbs around the house in hopes that it will teach me some life skills.

It was my second mini project. The first was the faulty light bulb in the house. When dad was teaching me on how to change the tap, it felt like a father and son in a garage moment. Just that in Singapore, we don’t really have the space for garages.

It was time well spent between the two of us. Dad was like the teacher imparting whatever he knew to me. Although it’s not something great, like learning the ropes of his business empire, it was more like learning the ropes to be an adult, to share the burden and responsibility of supporting this house. It was his way of teaching me to be the man of the house. It was an intimate and rare moment.

I also think that Dad chose to do this because he knew I was not really a hands on kind of guy. Therefore, there is still much for me to learn from him. I hope to learn as much as I can so that I can share the burden of maintaining this household and also to be more independent. Afterall, I will be studying abroad real soon.  

One thought on “Monkey Wrench 

Leave a Reply

