Kid feeding on goat’s tits???

Simplistic drawings of handsome western men with cool haircuts from the 1980s lined the glass panel of this barber’s shop. Although they were there to inform customers of the available hairstyles, I have never seen anyone refer to those drawings, even when I visited as a kid. The smiling expression of these hand drawn faces remained untouched by modern influence.

I pushed open the glass door, and that same bell rang to alert the barber of a new customer’s entrance. The air-conditioning has always been really strong and so was that familiar smell, in which its source I will never know its origins.

I sat down on the same wooden chair.

Looking around, I never really noticed the decorations in the shop. After panning my gaze around the place, I realised how disorientated the shop was – random Chinese lanterns hung up, lights with Islamic engravings on them and a fenceless fan spinning dangerously next to the television. Making it worst, all these are against the backdrop of a glaring and unsightly shade of yellow.

An insignificant sized photograph was stuck to the corner of one mirror. Squinting my eyes, I realised it was actually a child feeding onto the nipples of a goat or cow. Not sure if the child was any of these barbers or their kids, but it certainly was a reflection of their humour. As a kid, I remember they were always really friendly and had a sense of humour that was charismatic to the men of all ages that patronised them. When it was my turn, I was treated with that same amicability and humour.

After all these years, nothing really did change in this shop, not even that sense of humour or the ticket number machine.

Leave a Reply

